Nobel Prizes in the News

Jacques Dubochet, Joachim Frank, and Richard Henderson received the 2017 Nobel Prize in Chemistry.
They advanced the technique of cryo-electron microscopy to determine biomolecule structures, more.


2017 Structural Science "From x to e"
Chemistry World, 13 October 2017

There have been at least 22 Nobel Prizes awarded for advances in x-ray diffraction; this article describes how electron diffraction expands structural science to molecules that don't crystallize. At the 2017 ACA meeting cryo-electron microscopy was featured in the Transactions session chaired by Stephen Burley and Michael Rossmann.

Remembering Ahmed H. Zewail (1946-2016)
Structural Dynamics 3, 040401 (2016); doi: 10.1063/1.4961968

It is with great sorrow that we heard of the passing away of Ahmed H. Zewail, the father of Femtochemistry and the pioneer of ultrafast electron-based Science, on August 2, 2016.